Wenstrup Applauds Designation of Two National Blue Ribbon Schools

Washington, October 2, 2018 Contact: Ann Tumolo (202-225-3164)

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressman Wenstrup (OH-02) released the following statement after U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recognized Mariemont Elementary School and Saint Andrew-Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic School in Ohio’s Second District as National Blue Ribbon Schools:

“I am proud that two schools in Ohio’s Second District have earned the National Blue Ribbon School designation. Congratulations to the dedicated educators and hard-working students who have earned this prestigious recognition,” said Congressman Brad Wenstrup. 


Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. 349 schools nationwide have been designated as National Blue Ribbon Schools in 2018.

All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school's student groups and all students over the past five years.

# # #