Skip to Content

Press Releases

GOP Doctors Caucus Announces Leadership and Welcomes New Members

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, GOP Doctors Caucus Co-Chairmen Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. (OH-02), Andy Harris, M.D., (MD-01), and Michael Burgess, M.D., (TX26) announced the caucus’s leadership roster for the 117th Congress and welcomed new members Dr. Ronny Jackson, M.D. (TX-13), Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. (IA-02), and Diana Harshbarger, Pharm.D., (TN-01).

GOP Doc Caucus Leadership:
Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. – Co-Chair
Andy Harris, M.D. – Co-Chair
Michael Burgess, M.D. – Co-Chair
Larry Bucshon, M.D. – Vice Chair
John Joyce, M.D. – Vice Chair
Greg Murphy, M.D. – Vice Chair

“As we begin the new Congress, the GOP Doctors Caucus remains committed to protecting patients. Health care providers must have a seat at the table as this Congress drafts and enacts any healthcare-related policy. Conference and Committee Leadership can count on the GOP Doctor Caucus members to provide expert insight and real-world experience when weighing in on policymaking decisions that affect patients and patient care. I’m proud to announce our caucus’s leadership and look forward to continuing our work to protect patient access to care, foster medical innovation, and strengthen pandemic preparedness,” said Dr. Brad Wenstrup.

“It’s a pleasure to once again lead this knowledgeable and talented group of practitioners as we develop sound legislative policy for Republicans in Congress and push back against the socialized medicine agenda of the Biden Administration. Additionally, congratulations to my newly elected co-chairs, Drs. Wenstrup and Burgess!  I look forward to working with them, and all our members, in being the champions for quality, patient-centered healthcare policy in the 117th Congress,” said Dr. Andy Harris.

“With the country continuing to fight this coronavirus, it is critical that doctors are at the forefront of making the policy decisions that will affect the American health care system. GOP Doc Caucus remains committed to ensuring that health policy solutions are doctor and patient centric. Serving as a co-chair of this caucus, I am pleased to introduce our leadership team. These leaders are ready to tackle the tough policy issues and provide real results for the American people,” said Dr. Michael Burgess. 

“The GOP Doctors Caucus is helping lead the way in Congress to make quality health care more accessible and affordable for all Americans – and to ensure that health care decisions remain between patients and their health care providers. Year after year, health care reform remains a top priority for Americans, and as doctors and health care providers with real, lived experience, the members of this caucus continue to champion legislation that will improve the health care system and the outcomes for patients. I am honored to serve in the leadership of the caucus, and I look forward to our work during the 117th Congress,” said Dr. Larry Bucshon.

“It is a privilege to serve alongside fellow physicians in the GOP Doctors Caucus as we work together to improve Americans’ access to quality and affordable health care, invest in lifesaving innovation, and deliver results for American patients. As we continue to combat the COVID-19 pandemic, it is more important than ever to have doctors at the table as Congress considers our nation’s road to recovery. From accelerating the distribution of safe and effective COVID-19 vaccines to protecting the health care supply chain and making health care more affordable for American families, the GOP Doctors Caucus is well-positioned to lead the way on the most pressing issues before the 117th Congress,” said Dr. John Joyce.

“The reason most folks get into medicine is because they want to help people be healthy – that is certainly the case for my colleagues in the GOP Doctors Caucus. As health care professionals ourselves, the GOP Doctors Caucus stands ready to lead the way in getting out of this pandemic and reforming health policy. While America offers the best quality health care in the world, we still struggle with accessibility and cost problems. I look forward to my new role as Vice Chair of the GOP Doctors Caucus and the opportunity that comes with it to further expand access and reduce costs while also being mindful that we do not stifle innovation,” Dr. Greg Murphy.

The GOP Doctors Caucus is comprised of Republican Members of Congress with medical and health care provider backgrounds and who utilize their medical expertise and backgrounds to develop patient-centered health care policy.

GOP Doctors Caucus Members for the 117th Congress:

Brian Babin, D.D.S. (TX-36)
Specialty: Dentistry
Committees: Transportation and Infrastructure; Science, Space, & Technology

Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-08)
Specialty: Cardiothoracic Surgery
Committee: Energy and Commerce

Michael Burgess, M.D. (TX-26)
Specialty: Obstetrics and Gynecology
Committees: Energy and Commerce; Rules; Budget

Earl L. “Buddy” Carter, R.Ph. (GA-01)
Specialty: Pharmacy\
Committee: Energy and Commerce; Budget

Scott DesJarlais, M.D. (TN-04)
Specialty: General Medicine
Committees: Armed Services; Agriculture

Neal Dunn, M.D. (FL-02)
Specialty: Surgery and Urology
Committee: Energy and Commerce

Drew Ferguson, D.M.D. (GA-03)
Specialty: Dentistry
Committee: Ways and Means

Mark Green, M.D. (TN-07)
Specialty: Emergency Medicine/Flight Surgeon
Committees: Foreign Affairs; Armed Services

Paul Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-04)
Specialty: Dentistry
Committees: Natural Resources; Oversight and Reform

Andy Harris, M.D. (MD-01)
Specialty: Anesthesiology
Committee: Appropriations

Diana Harshbarger, Pharm.D. (TN-01)
Specialty: Pharmacy
Committees: Education and Labor; Homeland Security

Ronny Jackson, M.D. (TX-13)
Specialty: Emergency Medicine
Committees: Armed Services; Foreign Affairs

John Joyce, M.D. (PA-13)
Specialty: Internal Medicine and Dermatology
Committee: Energy and Commerce

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. (IA-02)
Specialty: Ophthalmology
Committees: Homeland Security; Education and Labor; Veterans Affairs

Greg Murphy, M.D. (NC-03)
Specialty: Urology
Committees: Education and Labor; Veterans Affairs

Mike Simpson, D.M.D. (ID-02)
Specialty: Dentistry
Committee: Appropriations

Jefferson Van Drew, D.D.S. (NJ-02)
Specialty: Dentistry
Committees: Homeland Security; Transportation & Infrastructure

Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. (OH-02)
Specialty: Podiatric Medicine and Surgery
Committees: Ways and Means; Intelligence