Skip to Content

Press Releases

Reps. Wenstrup, Murphy, Pascrell, Morelle Urge Biden Administration to Implement No Surprises Act

Washington, D.C. - Reps. Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. (R-OH), Greg Murphy M.D. (R-NC), Bill Pascrell (D-NJ), and Joe Morelle (D-NY) sent a letter with 35 additional Members to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra, Department of the Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen, and Acting Secretary of the U.S. Department of Labor Julie Su, urging the Administration to take action to ensure that the No Surprises Act is implemented properly and that additional administrative burdens and barriers to patient access are addressed.

In the letter, the Representatives state that a large number of issues remain unresolved related to "the qualified payment amount (QPA), network shrinking, compliance, and enforcement with statutorily required payment timelines. Tracking and ultimately addressing such issues will be key to the long-term success of the NSA in resolving disputes and ensuring patient access to care."

"We urge the Departments to monitor these issues and take appropriate action for violations of the law," the letter concludes.

Read the full letter here

“As a physician and lawmaker, it is deeply important to me that the No Surprises Act, which Congress passed on a bipartisan basis, is enacted properly to ensure the wellbeing of patients and health care providers. The recommendations we urge in this letter are a starting point to ensure that the implementation of this important law follows Congressional intent, and the law's purpose is realized for patients," said Rep. Wenstrup.

“The proper implementation of the bipartisan No Surprises Act remains an issue we are deeply concerned about. Continued oversight of QPA calculations, improved monitoring of shrinking in-network contracts, and greater regulatory enforcement of statutory requirements are essential to protecting patients. We must work together to ensure the integrity of this legislation, enacted into law, is upheld," said Rep. Murphy.

"No patient should fear being blindsided with massive, unexpected medical bills in the middle of an emergency," said Rep. Morelle. "I was proud to work with my colleagues in Congress to pass the No Surprises Act and end the predatory practice of surprise medical billing. Now, we're urging the Biden Administration to ensure the provisions outlined in the bill are implemented thoughtfully and effectively to protect patients and bring much-needed peace of mind to families across the country.”

“The high cost of medical care is a tremendous burden for countless millions of Americans,” said Rep. Pascrell. “The abolishment of surprise medical bills was a historic victory for American families, so it is essential that that prohibition endures and is implemented fully. Democrats and Republicans are united are on this issue to protect Americans from high costs just to stay healthy.”

Additional cosigners include: Rep. Claudia Tenney (NY-24); Rep. Jefferson Van Drew (NJ-02); Rep. Andy Harris, M.D. (MD-01); Rep. Drew Ferguson IV (GA-03); Rep. Susan Wild (PA -07); Rep. Brad Finstad (MN-01); Rep. Mike Carey (OH-15); Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-14); Rep. Buddy Carter (GA-01); Rep. Raul Ruiz, M.D. (CA-25); Rep. Adrian Smith (NE-03); Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01); Rep. Jeff Jackson (NC-14); Rep. Blake Moore (UT-1); Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. (IA-01); Rep. Carol Miller (WV-01); Rep. John Joyce, M.D. (PA-13); Rep. Darin LaHood (IL-16); Rep. David Schweikert (AZ-01); Rep. Thomas Suozzi (NY-03); Rep. Rich McCormick, M.D. (GA-06); Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07); Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-16); Rep. Ron Estes (KS-04); Rep. David Valadao (CA-22); Rep. Beth Van Duyne (TX-24); Rep. Brian Babin, D.D.S. (TX-36); Rep. Yadira Caraveo, M.D. (CO-08); Rep. Randy Feenstra (IA-04); Rep. Nathaniel Moran (TX-01); Rep. Daniel Meuser (PA-09); Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08); Rep. Michelle Steel (CA-45); Rep. Donald Davis (NC-01); Rep. Danny Davis (IL-07).